Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.07.47.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.07.58.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.08.05.png
04.jpg

In the heart of Prati, in Rome, last Thursday ended her exhibition "VITA", the artist Elena Chioccarelli Denis, at the gallery Micro Visual Arts. 

An exhibition with a poetic and evocative character retraces the personal epic of Giulia Patrizi Carrega, the artist's grandmother, and opens the links of the great history to let out a glimmer of a personal history that speaks to us all.

 

On behalf of the Italian state, the woman made a long journey and landed on the African coast to reach Ethiopia, then under the control of the Italian government.

 

The series of polymaterial works produced and assembled are the visual projections of a journey that recounts the painful vicissitudes testified by a diary by the painter's grandmother, rediscovered by chance a few years ago.

 

The horrors of segregation and captivity mingle with reminiscences of a rarefied world, marked with sometimes brilliant colors, melancholically enveloped in a burnt whiteness. "VITA" is an exhibition which makes the essence of the meaning of the experience flow with delicate decoratism. The journey made by Giulia Patrizi Carrega in Ethiopia becomes an almost spiritual journey which welcomes the foreigner and allows an increase as intimate as it is painful.

 

The drama of life crushed between the bite of hunger and the fear of death is seen in the eyes of a woman with a veiled head. White eyes, black as burnt wood stand out against a candid sclera, almost frightened and surprised by the presence of the spectator, open on the childish face of a woman, perhaps become such too soon.

Elena Chioccarelli Denis' poetics develop by following the strong link that linked the artist's existence to that of her grandmother.  

 

 

The fraction of life they shared made possible the intertwining of two souls which today pushes to satisfy the requirement to give substance to a story. The series of works highlights a little-told historical paranthesis. Colonialism experienced by Giulia Patrizi Carrega takes shape through an indirect memory: the artist has never personally visited Ethiopia.

 

The mythisation of this split world, however, projects onto the surfaces manipulated by Elena Chioccarelli Denis a reality shrouded in a fascinating mist. The realization of an exhibition like the one that took place in the Micro gallery has the power to get caught up in the history of others. You are accompanied out of the room with the feeling that you have left something in the back of your pockets. An intangible object that we did not have at the start of the journey has now instilled like an idea in our mind and does not leave us easily.

 

Reflecting on this feeling takes us through an imaginary portal that is drawn in liquid and light tints by an artist whose style is as rich as it is hardly framed in a single category.

 

The varied nature of the techniques employed by Chioccarelli testifies to his long series of experiences which have marked his career spanning several decades. The activity of restoration and the engagement in the craft industry are stages which have shaped the cultural background of the artist: indeed, the painter knew how to give shape today to a personal language, distinguishable in a current artistic panorama. always more productive but tending to a gray homologation

Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.07.47.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.07.58.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-09-17 a las 23.08.05.png
04.jpg

Au cœur de Prati, à Rome, jeudi dernier, a conclu son parcours l’exposition "VITA", de l’artiste Elena Chioccarelli Denis, à la galerie Micro Arts visuels.

Exposition au caractère poétique et évocateur retrace l’épopée personnelle de Giulia Patrizi Carrega, grand-mère de l’artiste, et ouvre les mailles de la grande histoire pour laisser échapper une lueur d’une histoire personnelle qui nous parle à tous.

 

Au nom de l’État italien, la femme fait un long voyage et débarque sur les côtes africaines pour rejoindre l’Ethiopie, alors sous le contrôle du gouvernement italien.

 

La série d’œuvres polymatériques produites et rassemblées sont les projections visuelles d’un voyage qui raconte les douloureuses vicissitudes témoignées par un journal intime par la grand-mère de la peintre, redécouverte par hasard il y a quelques années.

 

Les horreurs de la ségrégation et de la captivité se mêlent aux réminiscences d’un monde raréfié, marqué de couleurs parfois brillantes, enveloppé mélancoliquement d’une blancheur brûlée. "VITA" est une exposition qui fait couler avec un décoratisme délicat l’essence de la signification de l’expérience. Le voyage accompli par Giulia Patrizi Carrega en Éthiopie devient un parcours presque spirituel qui accueille l’étranger et en permet un accroissement aussi intime que douloureux.

 

Le drame de la vie écrasée entre la morsure de la faim et la peur de la mort se perçoit dans le regard d’une femme à la tête voilée. Des yeux blancs, noirs comme du bois brûlé se détachent sur une candide sclèrotique, presque effrayés et surpris par la présence du spectateur, s’ouvrent sur le visage enfantin d’une femme, devenue telle peut-être trop tôt.

La poétique d’Elena Chioccarelli Denis se développe en suivant le fort lien qui reliait l’existence de l’artiste à celle de sa grand-mère. 

 

 

La fraction de vie qu’ils ont partagée a rendu possible l’entrelacement de deux âmes qui aujourd’hui pousse à satisfaire l’exigence de donner corps à un récit. La série d’œuvres met en évidence une paranthèse historique peu racontée. Le colonialisme vécu par Giulia Patrizi Carrega prend corps à travers un souvenir indirect : l’artiste ne s’est jamais rendu personnellement en Éthiopie.

 

La mythisation de ce dédoublé de monde projette cependant sur les surfaces manipulées par Elena Chioccarelli Denis une réalité enveloppée d’une brume fascinante. La réalisation d’une exposition comme celle qui a eu lieu dans la galerie Micro a le pouvoir de se laisser prendre dans l’histoire d’autrui. Vous êtes accompagné hors de la salle avec le sentiment d’avoir laissé quelque chose au fond de vos poches. Un objet immatériel que nous n’avions pas au début du parcours s’est maintenant instillé comme une idée dans notre esprit et ne nous laisse pas facilement.

 

Réfléchir sur ce sentiment nous fait traverser un portail imaginaire qui est dessiné avec des teintes liquides et légères par une artiste dont le style est aussi riche que peu encadrable en une seule catégorie.

 

La nature variée des techniques mises en jeu par Chioccarelli témoigne de sa longue série d’expériences qui ont marqué son parcours de plusieurs décennies. L’activité de restauration et l’engagement dans l’artisanat sont des étapes qui ont façonné le bagage culturel de l’artiste : en effet, la peintre a su donner forme aujourd’hui à un langage personnel, distinguable dans un panorama artistique actuel toujours plus productif mais tendant à une grise homologatio